Republican Seismic Survey Center of the
Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences
Republican Seismic Survey
Center of ANAS

Republican Seismic Survey Center of ANAS

Republican Seismic Survey Center is the main organization, involved in the research and study of earthquakes on the territory of Azerbaijan Republic. Seismological, geophysical, geochemical and geodynamic complex researches are conducted in the Center.

RSSC is the only organization in CIS,where the seismological researches are conducted by a network of seismic stations operating via satellite communication.

It should be noted that, this Seismic Stations Network produced by “Kinemetrics” company of USA, is widely used by the main leading countries of the world.

Now, there are 84 seismic stations of RSSC operating via satellite communication on the territory of Republic. For the first time in the world, 12 seismic stations have been installed around mud volcanoes in Azerbaijan, with the help of which the dynamics of mud volcanoes is studied.

In addition, 24 GPS stations were installed in the territory of the republic by the Center. The GPS station located on the well with the depth of 8324 meters in the Saatli district of Azerbaijan is selected by its unity. There are geophysical and geochemical stations of RSXM in the territory of the republic.

The history of the Republican Seismic Survey Center (RSSC) of Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences (ANAS) has various historic stages. In Azerbaijan, the first instrumental observations began in the early XX century.

After the strong earthquake that occurred in Shamakhi in 1902, seismic stations were installed in three places on the territory of Azerbaijan, and thus instrumental observations were started.

The independent Seismological Service of Azerbaijan was restricted by the former Soviet Union for a long time.  By the decision of the Council of Ministers of Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic in 1979 according to the decree of the National Academy of Sciences was created ”Geophysics” Geophysical Research Party at the Institute of Geology of ANAS.

In 1980 on its basis was founded Experimental Methodical Geophysics Expedition. 

In 1980-1990 years was founded the network of stationary geochemical-geophysical stations covered all of the seismogenic zone of the republic.Hydro-gas and radio - chemical industries began the study of the assessment of stress in the seismogenic zone of deformation,were developed geochemical and geophysical field methods to identify the signs of abnormal changes in the parameters of the seismic prognosis. 

By the decisions of Cabinet of Ministers of Azerbaijan Republic 179 dated 01.09. 1998 and Presidium of Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences (ANAS) N22/2 dated 17.12.1998. EMGE was given the status of Republican Seismic Survey Center (RSSC) of ANAS in 1999.

Since 2008, the corresponding member of ANAS, “Honoured Scientist”, the doctor of geology-minerology sciences, professor Yetirmishli Gurban Jalal headed the RSSC.  There was his exceptional services in the establishment and expansion of seismic monitoring network.

The data gathered on the basis of the researches, conducted at the Republican Seismic Survey Center, is used not only for the aim of manufacturing, but also in research studies.

The Center, cooperates with the seismology centers of  more than 30 foreign country. The RSSC is a member of five main international seismological organizations: IRIS (Intercorporated Research Institutions for Seismology), ORFEUS (Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology), AGU (American Geophysical Union), EMSC (European – Mediterranean Seismological Center), ESC (European Seismological Commission).

Home Page